Help

Online Poker

• Please log in to reply
212 replies to this topic

#21 Aesa

Aesa

Posted 17 September 2009 - 06:06 PM

Bobdeshepard said:

After playing on fulltilt, Ultimate Bet, pokerstars, and party poker, there really isn't much of a difference in the long run on which site you play on (other than UB being caught up in that scam), your experience may have been coincidental.

is there one you prefer and why?

#22 Perileyes

Perileyes

Posted 17 September 2009 - 07:09 PM

I've been playing professionally for 5 years. I've made a very large amount of money playing but it was not all fun and games. I went through a 2 year period of hell. I still made good money during this time but I was miserable. All my friends tried to play and all of them ended up getting mentally crushed by the game. Only try to play professionally if you're going to take it very seriously. It's probably the hardest job you'll ever have. But if you can put in the time, keep your emotions in check and stick with it, yes, you can make insane amounts of money.

If you plan on just playing casually, I would advise playing at a small website. Websites like Party Poker and Full Tilt are loaded with pros. The small sites have pros too but they're generally a lot weaker. Make sure to take advantage of any sign up bonuses available to you. If you plan on playing a lot, find a rakeback deal on the net and that will give you a little extra cash each month.

As for how to actually play the game. It's always best to start out playing very tight. The best hands are much easier to play than the worst hands and you want to be making the easiest decisions possible. As you grow in experience, you should expand your hand selection. But this should be a very gradual process.