Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

Looking for nameplate addon


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Maguss

Maguss
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Ner'zhul
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 5
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 12 January 2009 - 06:14 AM

I have been looking for a really simple addon that I can't seem to find, and I was wondering if anyone has something similar. I want an addon that removes nameplates from everything but players.

Having nameplates on is extremely helpful for pvp, but it often gets way too cluttered. In arenas and battlegrounds, pets and totems makes them nearly useless, because you can't find your target. Is there an addon that removes nameplates from pets and totems, and only shows them on players?

I tried Aloft, but with a memory usage of about 2.3 MB, its a bit much (that and I dont even know if it can do what I'm looking for).

#2 sords

sords
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Arathor
  • Reckoning
  • Posts: 104
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 12 January 2009 - 07:28 AM

aloft can do it, 2.3mb isn't that much!

#3 Maguss

Maguss
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Ner'zhul
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 5
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 12 January 2009 - 09:05 AM

sords said:

aloft can do it, 2.3mb isn't that much!

Haha >.<

Preferably I would like to keep the default UI, as it really isnt that bad at all. I just have to turn them off against shaman.

#4 Capslockhero

Capslockhero
  • Members
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Trollbane
  • Reckoning / Abrechnung
  • Posts: 32
  • Talents:

Posted 12 January 2009 - 09:09 AM

just bind tab to target nearest enemy player rather than nearest enemy. bingo!

#5 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 12 January 2009 - 11:29 PM

http://www.vranx.com -> Nameplates
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939

#6 Maguss

Maguss
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Ner'zhul
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 5
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 13 January 2009 - 06:17 PM

Alright, so i downloaded ALoft and after awhile configuring it I make it look pretty nice. I also think I found the option to turn off plates on totems/pets, under the visibility module. However, I can't seem to get it to work again, and those visibility settings don't seem to save well.

Is anyone that uses Aloft able to permanently remove nameplates from pets and totems, or get it to work right?

#7 bigbluefish

bigbluefish
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Gorefiend
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 164
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 14 January 2009 - 02:41 AM

i tried aloft, but every time i logged off my setting reset and i would get the error message above everyones nametags :\

#8 hakundo

hakundo
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Dethecus
  • Embuscade / Hinterhalt
  • Posts: 183
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 14 January 2009 - 08:20 PM

mine is working fine

#9 tysopz

tysopz
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Twilight's Hammer
  • Blackout
  • Posts: 426
  • Talents: Holy

Posted 21 January 2009 - 10:47 PM

someone should make an addon for just this, should only take a few lines of code.

#10 Shadowed

Shadowed
  • Members
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Mal'Ganis
  • Stormstrike
  • Posts: 266
  • Talents:

Posted 22 January 2009 - 12:08 AM

tysopz said:

someone should make an addon for just this, should only take a few lines of code.

Generally making comments on things you have no idea about is a bad thing.

#11 tysopz

tysopz
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Twilight's Hammer
  • Blackout
  • Posts: 426
  • Talents: Holy

Posted 22 January 2009 - 01:34 AM

Are you telling me it shouldn't? I must admit I'm not into lua coding, but my general knowledge about programming paired with common sense tells me it shouldn't be too hard.

#12 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:03 PM

tysopz said:

Are you telling me it shouldn't? I must admit I'm not into lua coding, but my general knowledge about programming paired with common sense tells me it shouldn't be too hard.

What you're forgetting is the WoW API. (Correct me if I'm wrong on any of this, I probably am).

Just because common sense tells you it shouldn't be hard to achieve some functionality in a WoW UI doesn't mean that it actually is easy.  For instance, it doesn't sound like it would be hard to make a target recticle under a target's feet appear twice as large, right?  Just change a variable, add in a "*2" somewhere.  The problem arises when you find out that the API has no function calls that let you do this.

I don't know the API very well, but my guess is that, if it's even possible, you'd have to do some annoying filtering based on UnitCreatureType() calls.  But then wait?  I don't actually know of ANY API calls dealing with nameplates besides Hide & Show, so right there my minimal knowledge of the API fails, and I can't even tell if it's possible.

I'm not trying to be sarcastic of critical, I'm just trying to detail my thought process and explanation of why I think Shadowed's point is essentially correct, if a bit... harsh :(

Those of us who don't really know the API can't really comment much ._., at least when it comes to making new addons.
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939

#13 Maluss

Maluss
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Gorgonnash
  • Rampage
  • Posts: 2
  • Talents: Discipline
  • RBG: 384

Posted 10 December 2009 - 12:45 AM

http://wow.curse.com...s/overhead.aspx

Not sure if it works in 3.3 or not.

#14 Armblessed

Armblessed
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • EU-Nera'thor
  • Raserei / Frenzy
  • Posts: 1
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 20 June 2010 - 10:09 PM

Interface > Names > take the hook off enemy units/players/pets/guardians/totems whatever you want

#15 Abandonz

Abandonz
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Chromaggus
  • Reckoning / Abrechnung
  • Posts: 106
  • Talents: Affliction

Posted 29 June 2010 - 04:37 PM

Armblessed said:

Interface > Names > take the hook off enemy units/players/pets/guardians/totems whatever you want
Useless because it still shows all totems and trying to mouseover tremor through 4 totems, 2 players, 1 pet is impossible while the nameplates are moving constantly.

#16 Boneknight

Boneknight
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Terenas
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 72
  • Talents: Blood

Posted 29 June 2010 - 05:36 PM

U can remove nameplates from pets and totems on default UI, what's ur pont? 0_o
rate this: http://www.wowuigall...ui-v2#post-2616
Posted ImagePosted Image
Coincidence? I think not.
by the great artist Lunor from EU-Eonar

#17 Gatsuforce

Gatsuforce
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Runetotem
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 29
  • Talents: Fury 1/1/1/2/1/1

Posted 29 June 2010 - 06:48 PM

using Tidy Plates here (http://www.wowinterf...t5.12Beta7.html) and i like it a lot, very customizable :)
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<