Photo

Music nerds please help

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Buglamp

Buglamp

Posted 17 August 2016 - 04:26 PM

I've been making music-ish stuff in ableton more often lately and my ears are hurting. I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong, overusing something or whatever. I'm a total layman with mixing, I just use it to make arrangements using midi and play around with different effects.

I've tried lowering the volume(obvious) but it's only somewhat helpful. I'm wondering if there's like a checklist of common causes for this sort of problem and I can tweak things as necessary.

#2 YVNG_CARL_YVNG

YVNG_CARL_YVNG
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Die ewige Wacht
  • Glutsturm / Emberstorm
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/1/2/1/0/1/.

Posted 19 August 2016 - 08:21 AM

my dad makes music about 3 hours+ every day and he's never had a problem like that. i suppose you're using ableton live, probably with a studio headset? this doesn't sound normal to me dude, if anything i'd consult a doctor

#3 Buglamp

Buglamp

Posted 19 August 2016 - 05:10 PM

I consulted the internet and apparently there's a thing called listening fatigue or ear fatigue or whatever, basically doesn't affect everyone equally but listening to stuff for too long can cause it, especially at high volume with headphones but not limited to that.

#4 drugdealerx

drugdealerx
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Outland
  • Misery
  • Talents: Arcane 0/2/0/2/1/2
  • 2v2: 1911
  • 3v3: 2243
  • LocationFinland

Posted 19 August 2016 - 07:28 PM

i get ear fatigue after listening to drone metal for several hours, however it doesn't feel painful, just a mild discomfort

so really heavy long-duration tones combined with high volume do it for me, i haven't noticed any long term changes with my hearing though so i'm not worried

#5 Buglamp

Buglamp

Posted 19 August 2016 - 08:04 PM

Yeah I've taken a break and it's gone away.

#6 YVNG_CARL_YVNG

YVNG_CARL_YVNG
  • Members