Photo

Can someone explain why Sub is better than Mut?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 potatoshapedham

potatoshapedham
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Talents: Subtlety 0/1/2/2/0/1/2
  • 2v2: 1145
  • 3v3: 1402
  • 5v5: 1369
  • RBG: 1539

Posted 14 January 2016 - 11:41 PM

I started playing rogue around November and I pretty much confined myself to Assassination only, especially at endgame. I had tried Combat and I didn't like it at all, and I found Assassination fit my playstyle well.

When I started running 3s, I wasn't having fun with RMD/RMP and found my only enjoyable comp to be Thugcleave. After playing it a lot I came across information that Sub is the proper rogue spec for Thug as it has more burst that can accompany your BM hunter better.

I've been trying to learn Sub for about over a week now and I'm not seeing this burst in action. Shadowdance really sucks in my opinion because my Ambushes hit for around the same as my Mutilates did, and my Eviscerates hit for less than my Envenoms. Plus there's less consistent damage as I feel energy starved, find difficulty in getting Backstabs consistenly positioned, have to waste combo points on SnD, and don't have those sweet poison/Rupture procs I had in Mut spec. The burst in Mut seemed to be strong too with M4D/DFA and the Vanish set bonus.

I'm aware Mut is like the equivalent of Arcane in that people don't see it as viable, but I can't understand why. It seems to have everything Sub has and more.

#2 Shiqra

Shiqra
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Kult der Verdammten
  • Raserei / Frenzy
  • Talents: Assassination 2/2/0/1/0/.

Posted 15 January 2016 - 12:05 AM

If you are more comfortable and have more fun with Assassination, play it.
You dont waste your Combopoints in SnD, you invest in more Energyregen. But yeah its hard to kill something outside of CDs / Stealth.