• Humanclass_name
  • US-Kel'Thuzad
  • Nightfall
  • Talents: Affliction 0/2/0/2/0/0/0
  • 2v2: 1626
  • 3v3: 2038
  • 5v5: 2138

Posted 20 November 2014 - 04:36 PM

HI ladies and gents, Im new to ret pali, just hit 100 and would like to learn a little more about pvping as ret. Most notably the Defensive part of it. I'm ok with the pew pew and CC part.

The context of these questions are for 3v3 arena:
  • What do you do when you get trained ability wise?
  • Best way to offheal? (abilities, talents?)
  • Any tips or tricks for staying alive and keeping your team alive?
  • Play style? Is it, Play mostly support until wings and then go ham, then support then ham or just focus on dps the whole time?

#2 Drake

Drake
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Drak'thul
  • Reckoning / Abrechnung
  • Talents: Retribution 1/0/0/2/0/2/2

Posted 20 November 2014 - 10:56 PM

I'm not 100 yet, but mainly to keep the thread going and to answer your most general question:

Play style? Is it, Play mostly support until wings and then go ham, then support then ham or just focus on dps the whole time?

You never play "mostly support" or "mostly dps". You go with the flow. Pretty much all your support is instant cast so just get macros for every partner and every support spell and just throw it over your shoulder whenever necessary while DPSing all the time. By throwing it over shoulder I literally mean don't even turn around, just press the button and get it over with.

The mistake most players make (and I do it all the damn time when I play my mage) is trying to do "important stuff" first and damage second. Screw that. You're the DPS, you do the damage. Damage equals pressure and pressure equals opportunities. Opportunities allow clever use of "important stuff" to win the game.