Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

personal internet or modem or something like that


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 itastelikecandy

itastelikecandy
  • Junkies
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Mal'Ganis
  • Stormstrike
  • Posts: 19
  • Talents: Shadow 1/1/2/1/2/1
  • 2v2: 1518

Posted 04 August 2014 - 03:27 PM

hey i was wondering if anyone else has ever been in this situation or know anything about it. im moving and i want to get my own internet different from the internet at the house im moving too. now is it possible to get my own internet with like a hot spot or something and still have good internet or should i just ask my roommates to see if they wanna upgrade their internet and obviously share.

also would i have to get something installed and it would mess up there set up or would it be easy breazy
milk me.

#2 topgay

topgay
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Frostmourne
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 233
  • Talents: Survival 0/1/2/2/1/0
  • 2v2: 1316

Posted 04 August 2014 - 03:36 PM

Just order a different broadband plan with new router.

Edited by topgay, 04 August 2014 - 03:36 PM.

cheers doomsen
Posted Image

#3 itastelikecandy

itastelikecandy
  • Junkies
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Mal'Ganis
  • Stormstrike
  • Posts: 19
  • Talents: Shadow 1/1/2/1/2/1
  • 2v2: 1518

Posted 04 August 2014 - 03:42 PM

View Posttopgay, on 04 August 2014 - 03:36 PM, said:

Just order a different broadband plan with new router.
is that possible? say they have directv and i want verizon?
milk me.

#4 topgay

topgay
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Frostmourne
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 233
  • Talents: Survival 0/1/2/2/1/0
  • 2v2: 1316

Posted 04 August 2014 - 03:43 PM

They'll make it possible. It's business. Business needs income.
cheers doomsen
Posted Image

#5 Esad

Esad
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Outland
  • Misery
  • Posts: 16
  • Talents: Frost 0/2/0/2/2/2
  • RBG: 2483

Posted 04 August 2014 - 04:40 PM

uhm and the 4g connections are more than convenient for playing wow + voice (no skype.), been on a 20-30ping while using my iphone 4g network via hotspot

#6 itastelikecandy

itastelikecandy
  • Junkies
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Mal'Ganis
  • Stormstrike
  • Posts: 19
  • Talents: Shadow 1/1/2/1/2/1
  • 2v2: 1518

Posted 04 August 2014 - 04:44 PM

View PostEsad, on 04 August 2014 - 04:40 PM, said:

uhm and the 4g connections are more than convenient for playing wow + voice (no skype.), been on a 20-30ping while using my iphone 4g network via hotspot
i do use skype so is the 4g network not able to handle it? also i play other multiplayer games
milk me.

#7 Esad

Esad
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Outland
  • Misery
  • Posts: 16
  • Talents: Frost 0/2/0/2/2/2
  • RBG: 2483

Posted 04 August 2014 - 05:49 PM

View Postitastelikecandy, on 04 August 2014 - 04:44 PM, said:

i do use skype so is the 4g network not able to handle it? also i play other multiplayer games

well it certainly is, but i dont know how much bandwith you have available for the month, here in germany its common that your 4g speed gets lowered to 64k after you used more than 1gb of data and skype basically will use up to 150mb per hour depending on how much is spoken

#8 kragga

kragga
  • Members
  • Posts: 40

Posted 11 August 2014 - 10:38 PM

everything is possible but for you the ideal deal is : get your own internet from another internet provider!
your roomates flatmates will download, they will skype with video, thenyou cant play games.
other solutionmy friend done it( i dont have money for it): he bought a huge parabolic antenna costed something like 4000 Euro and he gets his own internet from the satellite orbiting around the earth so good luck to ddos that system:)

#9 zenga

zenga
  • Members
  • Posts: 340
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 12 August 2014 - 09:17 AM

At least where I live it's not possible to get two different cable providers over the same cable. I need a backup connection for business though and went for DSL (cable is main, and a cheap DSL connection as backup).

#10 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 19 August 2014 - 04:43 AM

View Postzenga, on 12 August 2014 - 09:17 AM, said:

At least where I live it's not possible to get two different cable providers over the same cable. I need a backup connection for business though and went for DSL (cable is main, and a cheap DSL connection as backup).
This is generally true in a lot of the US.  The cable companies specifically do not compete with each other.  That's also partly why we pay so much more for internet than the rest of the civilized world.  Don't like it?  Take it up with your local/state govt, but prepared to get nowhere because of telecom lobbying.
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<