• Curse Sites
Help

How did you get over that sub 1800 hump?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Pestìlence

Pestìlence
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Bleeding Hollow
  • Ruin
  • Talents: Frost 0/0/0/2/1/2
  • 2v2: 1078
  • 3v3: 1081
  • RBG: 192

Posted 12 March 2014 - 11:27 PM

I'm a PvE hero who would like to seriously PvP on my Mage, but I'm finding it nearly impossible to find teams/partners at my skill level who aren't just looking for a cap.

I haven't done many arenas, mostly just playing with a friend in 2s (Ret Pally <_<), and last season we were maybe 1500.  Since the start of the season, I've tried to find people to play with, but it seems like nobody at my skill level is actually trying to PvP seriously.

It looks like once I hit 1800 I can find RBG teams or a 3s team easier (judging by Trade), but I'm really lost at what I'm supposed to do to *get* to 1800.  I have a ton to learn and need a lot of practice, but I just can't seem to find anyone to play with who is my level with the same goals.

Anyone have any advice?

#2 Flavours

Flavours

Posted 12 March 2014 - 11:35 PM

This can be really hard, and as someone who recently went through this experience, being 1500 midway through S14, i found 1800 very hard to attain, especially only playing with friends.

One major thing, you can do for yourself, first is make sure you have the optimal spec / playstyle.

Foxztar's Mage guide has detailed strats and tips for mage:
http://www.arenajunk...mage-guide-547/

And my own personal plug here for my keybind guide:
http://www.arenajunk...or-new-players/

Important factors that will gain you 200 rating are Focus macro's, Awareness, Good binds, Targetting macro's, and avoiding Tunnel vision. Not to mention knowlege of other classes / specs.