Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

Anticipation Addon

anticipation addon

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 07 January 2014 - 06:43 PM

Anticipation

Posted Image

Shows the Anticipation talent buff stacks as additional combo points.
It also makes normal combo points appear instantly, without the default 30ms animation.

Download: http://www.curse.com...ow/anticipation

#2 sounds

sounds
  • Premium Junkies
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Korgath
  • Vengeance
  • Posts: 350
  • Talents: Balance 2/0/2/1/1/.

Posted 07 January 2014 - 08:02 PM

Neat, way better than using a weakaura to track the anticipation stacks.

#3 varellz

varellz
  • LocationGermany

Posted 07 January 2014 - 08:39 PM

nice, thanks

#4 discoepfeand

discoepfeand
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Posts: 73

Posted 08 January 2014 - 01:41 PM

Wow, that's a really short and precise bit of code, and probably the best-commented addon I've seen in years.  Really nice job!

I do have one question though - it the display logic, you wrote:

function Addon:UNIT_AURA(unit)
if unit ~= "player" then return end

for i = 6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
local AntiStacks = select(4, UnitBuff("player", GetSpellInfo(115189))) -- Anticipation stacks
if AntiStacks then
for i = 6, AntiStacks+5 do ComboPoint[i]:Show() end
end
end

Since I really don't understand best-practices of coding, why is it that you hide then redraw them all, as opposed to
function Addon:UNIT_AURA(unit)
if unit ~= "player" then return end

local AntiStacks = select(4, UnitBuff("player", GetSpellInfo(115189))) -- Anticipation stacks
if AntiStacks then
for i = 6, AntiStacks+5 do ComboPoint[i]:Show() end
for i = AntiStacks+6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
else
for i = 6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
end

That seems like you'd save the hide each time unless stacks were gone, and only change what you need to of the ones that are there.  But I'm really not so keen on coding, so I don't know if that would even work, or if it does, if it would be theoretically more efficient or not.

#5 swagoverlord

swagoverlord

Posted 08 January 2014 - 02:10 PM

Wow now that this addon is out everyone is going to start playing anticipation
Please use an appropriate signature; thanks! http://www.arenajunk...-rules-2272014/

#6 glonglon

glonglon
  • Members
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Stormscale
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 1273
  • Talents: Retribution 1/0/0/2/0/2
  • 2v2: 1905
  • 3v3: 1990

Posted 08 January 2014 - 02:11 PM

View Postdj_abdullah, on 07 January 2014 - 08:02 PM, said:

Neat, way better than using a weakaura to track the anticipation stacks.

I love weakauras, It's the best addon ever made, here is my weakauras setup for anticipation charges :

Posted Image

Btw I also use weakauras to track my para poison stacks on the target, when it reaches 3 stacks the button starts glowing so It reminds me my target will be stunned soon and I start pooling energy :

Posted Image

I also track my important ICD with it (similar to extraCD addon) :

Posted Image

Posted Image


#7 sounds

sounds
  • Premium Junkies
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Korgath
  • Vengeance
  • Posts: 350
  • Talents: Balance 2/0/2/1/1/.

Posted 08 January 2014 - 03:04 PM

Haven't played in a while but doesn't the cheat death cd show on the debuff frame now?

#8 Coldizzle

Coldizzle
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Nemesis
  • Rampage
  • Posts: 203
  • Talents: Frost 0/0/0/2/1/2
  • 2v2: 1245
  • 3v3: 2285
  • RBG: 2003

Posted 08 January 2014 - 03:16 PM

mark of death

#9 name

name
  • Members
  • Posts: 6

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:44 AM

Hmm, I have a similar idea, maybe you can try something like this (if you want and have time, of course): make it display (either on PlayerFrame or every TargetFrame) the number of Searing Flames stacks. Maybe the colour should be something like orange-yellow-ish. Anyway, great work. Thanks!

Here's another idea that I had and have posted in another thread but no one seems to be able to help:

A script that replaces the portrait of players to their spec icon, and if they currently have no spec selected, then it displays the class icon. Just like Class Portraits, but with specs.

But now that I think about it, I realize it might only work in arena; still, it would be kinda useful.

#10 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:48 AM

View Postdiscoepfeand, on 08 January 2014 - 01:41 PM, said:

function Addon:UNIT_AURA(unit)
  if unit ~= "player" then return end

  local AntiStacks = select(4, UnitBuff("player", GetSpellInfo(115189))) -- Anticipation stacks
  if AntiStacks then
	for i = 6, AntiStacks+5 do ComboPoint[i]:Show() end
	for i = AntiStacks+6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
  else
	for i = 6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
  end
end
Nice idea, that code looks more optimal.
It can be improved even more:
function Addon:UNIT_AURA(unit)
  if unit ~= "player" then return end

  local Stacks = select(4, UnitBuff("player", GetSpellInfo(115189))) -- Anticipation stacks
  if not Stacks then Stacks = 0 end
  for i = 6, Stacks+5 do ComboPoint[i]:Show() end
  for i = Stacks+6, 10 do ComboPoint[i]:Hide() end
end
I will add the improvement in the next version. For the next version I want to add a timer so you can see the remaining time of the Anticipation buff.

#11 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:02 AM

View Postglonglon, on 08 January 2014 - 02:11 PM, said:

I love weakauras, It's the best addon ever made, here is my weakauras setup for anticipation charges
Yeah WeakAuras is a very good addon. My addon is more for people who like the Default UI (which is very common on AJ :P). Interestingly most people who are high rated use the Default UI, maybe there's some sort of correlation with simpler UI = more rating, perhaps because with a simpler UI you are more aware of the things that are truly important on an Arena.

#12 discoepfeand

discoepfeand
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Posts: 73

Posted 09 January 2014 - 07:05 AM

Oh, neat, I didn't realize you could end a function in a conditional - that's definitely a great way to do it!

As for the high-ratings vis a vis default UI, my understanding is that, since you can't use addons in Blizzard tournaments, people at high ratings play without them so they're not dependent on them so that if they go to a tournament, they're used to the environment already.

#13 Brugo

Brugo
  • Members
  • Posts: 7

Posted 10 January 2014 - 01:23 AM

Hey. I have modified this addon (as the user 'name' suggested above) to track the number of Searing Flame stacks. However when I tried to move this frame to its default position, I have managed to do so only with the first 4 combo points. The last one, as you even pointed out in the comment, needs its own adjustment. How can I make it return to its default ComboFrame5 position?

Also, how can I change the vertex color for the combo points?

#14 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 10 January 2014 - 01:54 AM

View PostBrugo, on 10 January 2014 - 01:23 AM, said:

Hey. I have modified this addon (as the user 'name' suggested above) to track the number of Searing Flame stacks. However when I tried to move this frame to its default position, I have managed to do so only with the first 4 combo points. The last one, as you even pointed out in the comment, needs its own adjustment. How can I make it return to its default ComboFrame5 position?
You want to move the "extra" ComboPoints to the default normal rogue ComboPoints positions? Just copy the anchors then.
for i = 6, 10 do
  ComboPoint[i]:ClearAllPoints()
  ComboPoint[i]:SetPoint(_G["ComboPoint"..i-5]:GetPoint())
end

View PostBrugo, on 10 January 2014 - 01:23 AM, said:

Also, how can I change the vertex color for the combo points?
The first region of the ComboPointTemplate is the texture of the "ball".
ComboPoint[i]:GetRegions():SetVertexColor(X, X, X, X)


#15 Brugo

Brugo
  • Members
  • Posts: 7

Posted 10 January 2014 - 02:16 AM

Thanks for the fast reply.

I have managed to get the frame to its default position, but when I try to change the color as you suggested, by copying     ComboPoint[i]:GetRegions():SetVertexColor(X, X, X, X)     I can modify only the border of the 'balls', not the texture.

Sorry for these (possibly) stupid questions, It's the first time I try to use scripts and I know nothing about programming. :)

#16 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 10 January 2014 - 02:48 PM

I have been doing tests and the first region is actually the border, the second region is the ball.
select(1, ComboPoint[i]:GetRegions()):SetVertexColor(0, 0, 1, 1) -- Border
select(2, ComboPoint[i]:GetRegions()):SetVertexColor(0, 0, 1, 1) -- Ball


#17 Richie311

Richie311

Posted 10 January 2014 - 03:55 PM

I've used Rogue Power Bars for this kind of stuff, works really well.
RICHMAN311 (1:34:09 AM): wat u doing
timbrice89 (1:34:21 AM): fucking this sheep
RICHMAN311 (1:34:36 AM): well thats my new sig for AJ forums
timbrice89 (1:34:48 AM): good

#18 Brugo

Brugo
  • Members
  • Posts: 7

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:14 PM

Works perfectly now. Thanks, Spyrö!

#19 Amplituhedron

Amplituhedron
  • Members
  • Posts: 5

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:02 PM

Im currently using wa for this but having no delay is very appealing. Any chance to getting it to work with non-standard ui frames? Im using stuf (Derived from a modified version of blkui) atm.

#20 Spyrö

Spyrö
  • Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Dun Modr
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 144
  • Talents: Subtlety 1/2/2/2/0/1
  • 2v2: 1059
  • RBG: 192
  • LocationSpain

Posted 20 January 2014 - 03:02 PM

View PostAmplituhedron, on 20 January 2014 - 12:02 PM, said:

Im currently using wa for this but having no delay is very appealing. Any chance to getting it to work with non-standard ui frames? Im using stuf (Derived from a modified version of blkui) atm.
WeakAuras should not have any delay.
The delay in the Default UI is caused by the fade-in animation time, which by default is 30ms, so each time you gain a combo point you see a 30ms animation of the Combo Point appearing in the slot, instead of appearing instantly.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: anticipation, addon

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<