LF Help with twitch api and php stuff... x_x

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 GemGirl

GemGirl
  • Members

Posted 13 May 2013 - 08:21 PM

Hi I'm really new to this php stuff... and I apologize for being so noob..

I have a gaming community... and I do all the site graphics html and etc etc... I want to surprise my community by being able to put their streams online and offline in a php script. however.. im very new to all this and I've tried researching many pages.. but I just can't for the life of me figure out how to make the .php file.. what parameters to change in the code... and also how to make it appear on the site....

This is the code i found though.. I cant figure out what to change in it for channel url.. So it'll show just a single person's channel..Do I need to copy and paste this code over and over in one file for every person's channel to show?

I also need to figure out what file to save it.. all I know is you put it on notepad.. do I save it as a .php?

And how to I make it even appear on my site? Do I just put embed url = url.php? as an object.. I'm sorry for the bother... I just really need help in this.

Also I use enjin.. yes they do allow me to upload files there and yes those files can be directed to the site. (I think you need that for PHP)

<?php
$channel = "CHANNELNAME"; // lowercase or the shit gonna be serius
$json_file = @file_get_contents("http://api.justin.tv/api/stream/list.json?channel={$channel}", 0, null, null); // care the link i have space between http and api cause i must have 5 posts to post links blah blah blah
$json_array = json_decode($json_file, true);
if (isset($json_array[0]) && $json_array[0]['name'] == "live_user_{$channel}")
{
$channelTitle = $json_array[0]['channel']['title'];
$title = $json_array[0]['channel']['status'];
$game = $json_array[0]['meta_game'];
?>
<!-- live channel code here -->
on
<!-- end live channel code -->
<?php
}
else
{
?>
<!-- offline channel code here -->
off