Jump to content

Internet Speed Dropping


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Envenom.

Envenom.
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 611
  • Talents: Retribution

Posted 21 February 2013 - 03:05 PM

Speed is going from 19mbps to 5-2mbps randomly, using Bt Home Hub, called bt guy, he came and installed a new one and said it was 13mbps avg and fine

what could the problem be?

- too many computers connecting?
- hub range from pc?



the new one is even worse and inconsistent







making competitive games unplayable > getting kicked/banned, pls halp idk this shit


omg how can my sis get 65mbps on laptop in the other room? is this normal wtf i cant evn get 20

#2 Hyrmine

Hyrmine
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Sylvanas
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 3168
  • Talents: Arms 2/1/1/1/1/0

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:12 PM

Do you connect via cable or wifi?

#3 Envenom.

Envenom.
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 611
  • Talents: Retribution

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:38 PM

ye its wireless sorry forgot to mention

#4 Hyrmine

Hyrmine
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Sylvanas
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 3168
  • Talents: Arms 2/1/1/1/1/0

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:50 PM

Does your sister connect via cable or wifi?

#5 Envenom.

Envenom.
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 611
  • Talents: Retribution

Posted 21 February 2013 - 05:40 PM

wifi

A

#6 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:55 AM

I assume you mean wifi and then "A" just as a second word so that you can reply, not that you're on 802.11a.  If you are indeed using a on 5GHz, you may want to check and see what happens if you reduce the number of walls 'n shit between you and the router.


And, what happens if you use a wire?
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939

#7 Envenom.

Envenom.
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 611
  • Talents: Retribution

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:27 PM

talked to isp they say its due to my area and being not fibre optic, will try wired connection/move

thanks for the help

#8 salice

salice
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Rivendare
  • Emberstorm
  • Posts: 1234
  • Talents: Shadow

Posted 03 March 2013 - 12:18 AM

It can also depend on your wireless card and also the wireless settings.   Say if you are using the 5.0ghz speed you'll have faster speeds but less consistent and also less range while I believe 2.4ghz is a lil slower but will be fast enough for you.  That may help if you have alot of walls between the router to you.  

Direct connection should make it much better as well.  Anddddd check your wireless card, it may be getting older and may need an upgrade.

I'm not tech master but just some things that come off the top of my head.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<