affix
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Talents: Frost
  • RBG: 2479

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:29 PM

So it's looking more and more like the Imp CS nerf is going to go through, and I think that probably means the death of Frost in arenas in 5.2.  It's just too easy to shut down Frost Bomb mages without ICS, and NT without ICS can't put out enough pressure to get kills.  Our peels will be less potent without it as well, in addition to our CC rotations.

With all that in mind, I'm thinking Fire's probably the way to go moving forward.  Dragon's Breath is a great peel, great for CC rotations, and follows DF/Combustion for some good offensive CC during kills.  4-6 Pyroblasts in a row lets you solo healers even better than Frost Bomb frost mages.

With that in mind, I started practicing fire last night but I'm having trouble with some of the subtleties of damage dealing.  PoM fire with frostjaw seems like the way to go, I just don't feel at all comfortable doing damage, especially outside of our massive Alter Time burst every 1.5 minutes.

Gib burst:

build up instant pyro proc, and 'heating up'
Nova (or frost jaw)
trinket+pom+alter time+deep freeze
3-4 pyroblasts
alter time
3-4 pyroblasts (inferno blast any time you have heating up but no instapyro)

Right now you can imp cs after DF to keep bursting.  post patch we'll have to make clever use of blood elf silence & combustion stun.

My question, though, is how to do any kind of significant damage outside of  this rotation.  I don't have enough time played to fully understand exactly which spells clear 'heating up' when they don't crit and which ones do.  Is it only direct damage spells?  or direct fire spells?  how does it work exactly?