#1 nurmal

nurmal
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Warsong
  • Ruin
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:08 PM

Im about to go to tokyo and buy some stuff, just have some doubts on memory and oc.

Im gonna buy:

ASRock Z77 Extreme6

Intel Core i5 3570K BOX

and will OC it to ~ 4ghz
my doubt is about the memory, im thinking about buying g-skill memories:

G.SKILL SNIPER F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR (DDR3 PC3-17000 4G 2枚組)

will that work @ 2133 or its a waste? and should i worry about a better cooler for them and the cpu? what about the psu? will i need to buy a better one to oc that cpu and a radeon 7870 or 520w are enough?

im new to OC, so any tip would be nice :duckers:

#2 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:38 PM

Yes

2133 is a waste.  1866 is a waste.  Get 1333 or 1600, whichever appears cheaper.  Unless you're doing things which are severely gated on memory speed, like, uh... winzip.  Or.  Something.  Not for gaming.

It would be better to get an aftermarket cooler for OC, if only because the stock one is an annoying loud piece of shit.  Hyper212 is the standard entry level one, not sure what's available in Tokyo.

520w is sufficient.  An OC ivy probably draws less power than your current CPU.
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939

#3 nurmal

nurmal
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Warsong
  • Ruin
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:44 PM

Hmmm what about memory brand and latency/voltage? Does it matter or should i buy Adata ( the cheapest one here) ?

#4 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 18 November 2012 - 11:48 PM

You would prefer 1.5v not 1.65v for sandy bridge / ivy bridge.  I think adata's 1333 ram is all 1.5v.  Even if it is 1.65v it wouldn't be the end of the world.