Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

ddos, how do i avoid it


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:06 PM

so ive recently started to get ddosed when i stream (its really fun i promise) and im just curious if there is anything i can do besides making a new skype and being careful of who i add.

i have static IP so i cant just reset and change it.
~

#2 neilsback

neilsback
  • Neilyoirl
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Shattrath
  • Sturmangriff / Charge
  • Posts: 219
  • Talents: Subtlety

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:09 PM

phone your isp, if they can't help you well, you're fucked unless you buy some VPN bullshit which good DDOSers will bypass anyway.

#3 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:10 PM

View Postneilsback, on 12 June 2012 - 09:09 PM, said:

phone your isp, if they can't help you well, you're fucked unless you buy some VPN bullshit which good DDOSers will bypass anyway.

yeah i was thinking about calling my provider tommorow and see if they can do anything. hope they can lol
~

#4 Lewisxo

Lewisxo
  • Members
  • Posts: 477

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:14 PM

i thought i had a static ip because i turned my router off and instantly back on again and it didnt change my ip. Then i left it off for about 30 minutes and turned it back on and my ip was different, i wish i knew that before so i didn't spend 2 hours raging at my isp :-(
www.justin.tv/lewisyomage check out my stream and remember to hit the follow button :) i'll be streaming in 1080p around feb-march time!

#5 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:18 PM

View PostLewisxo, on 12 June 2012 - 09:14 PM, said:

i thought i had a static ip because i turned my router off and instantly back on again and it didnt change my ip. Then i left it off for about 30 minutes and turned it back on and my ip was different, i wish i knew that before so i didn't spend 2 hours raging at my isp :-(

problem is im not the only one in my family that uses the internet. my father owns his own company and works from home so internet is pretty damn important lol.. (up time 24/7)
~

#6 Libyanator

Libyanator
  • Barasi
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Kor'gall
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 337
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2401

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:22 PM

View PostLewisxo, on 12 June 2012 - 09:14 PM, said:

i thought i had a static ip because i turned my router off and instantly back on again and it didnt change my ip. Then i left it off for about 30 minutes and turned it back on and my ip was different, i wish i knew that before so i didn't spend 2 hours raging at my isp :-(

It doesn't need to be off for 30 minutes.....
[3:54:02 AM] Obelodalix: When it's full on flop
[3:54:06 AM] Obelodalix: Mine just gets lost
[3:54:09 AM] Obelodalix: in a sea of balls
[3:54:11 AM] Obelodalix: cuz I'm danny hart

#7 Lewisxo

Lewisxo
  • Members
  • Posts: 477

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:24 PM

View PostLibyanator, on 12 June 2012 - 09:22 PM, said:

It doesn't need to be off for 30 minutes.....

well, that's what i had to do i have no idea what a VPN is but the least you can do is try it :-), and sux you net has to be up 24/7 ;-(
www.justin.tv/lewisyomage check out my stream and remember to hit the follow button :) i'll be streaming in 1080p around feb-march time!

#8 Pawzz

Pawzz
  • Content Editors
  • Curse Premium
  • Orcclass_name
  • EU-Stormscale
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 2421
  • Talents: Beast Mastery
  • LocationAustria

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:30 PM

View Postneilsback, on 12 June 2012 - 09:09 PM, said:

good DDOSers

lol

#9 Nermó

Nermó
  • Junkies
  • Taurenclass_name
  • EU-Kor'gall
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 1281
  • Talents: Feral Combat
  • LocationSweden

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:52 PM

get a vpn and you'll be 100% safe from wow ddoser's
Posted Image

#10 Mylez

Mylez
  • Junkies
  • Gnomeclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 2052
  • Talents:

Posted 12 June 2012 - 10:21 PM

lol

#11 Naatzors

Naatzors
  • Premium Junkies
  • Curse Premium
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • EU-Haomarush
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 1512
  • Talents: Feral Combat
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 12 June 2012 - 10:25 PM

stay small dont get ddos

works for me
Posted Image

#12 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 10:53 PM

View PostNaatzors, on 12 June 2012 - 10:25 PM, said:

stay small dont get ddos

works for me

did u really just tell urself to stay small?: )
~

#13 Naatzors

Naatzors
  • Premium Junkies
  • Curse Premium
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • EU-Haomarush
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 1512
  • Talents: Feral Combat
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:00 PM

no i said i stayed small and that staying small works for me to not get ddos

It  wasn't that hard to understand was it?
Posted Image

#14 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:08 PM

View PostNaatzors, on 12 June 2012 - 11:00 PM, said:

no i said i stayed small and that staying small works for me to not get ddos

It  wasn't that hard to understand was it?

if i would of stayed small (not stream at all) i wouldnt be making this thread

ty for help mr
~

#15 Raystigz

Raystigz
  • Premium Junkies
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Shadowmoon
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 1070
  • Talents: Frost 0/2/0/2/2/2
  • RBG: 959
  • LocationNew York

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:15 PM

Do they need to be on your contacts list in skype in order to get their ip, or do you just need to know their skype username?
twitch.tv/Raystigz stream maybe someday i'll start using it again

#16 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:17 PM

View PostRaystigz, on 12 June 2012 - 11:15 PM, said:

Do they need to be on your contacts list in skype in order to get their ip, or do you just need to know their skype username?

what ive heard is that they have to know your skype name. but you dont need to accept them, they just need to send you a request.
~

#17 frankiieboyy

frankiieboyy
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-The Maelstrom
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 22
  • Talents: Fire 0/2/1/1/1/2

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:59 PM

They can get your IP from the stream chat.

#18 Espenbv88

Espenbv88
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 287

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:00 AM

View Postfrankiieboyy, on 12 June 2012 - 11:59 PM, said:

They can get your IP from the stream chat.

i thought that was only the chat from own3d.tv
~

#19 Supyawh

Supyawh
  • Junkies
  • Taurenclass_name
  • EU-Stormscale
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 660
  • Talents: Balance

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:27 AM

View PostNaatzors, on 12 June 2012 - 11:00 PM, said:

no i said i stayed small and that staying small works for me to not get ddos

It  wasn't that hard to understand was it?

hhAaahahahahahahahahah, skype!
>-.

#20 avocadowarrior

avocadowarrior
  • Premium Junkies
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 385
  • Talents: Subtlety
  • RBG: 1341
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:33 AM

View PostEspenbv88, on 12 June 2012 - 11:17 PM, said:

what ive heard is that they have to know your skype name. but you dont need to accept them, they just need to send you a request.

I wonder how that works. AFAIK you would need to send someone a file for them to get your IP address. From my basic network knowledge if you perform a netstat -a from command prompt while someone is sending you a file you should be able to see their address under "Foreign Address" so that would be one way.

Interesting to know if they have made some magical tool that allows you to get IPs from simply sending you a request though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<