Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

Skype causing WoW Lag


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 rageTG

rageTG

Posted 22 April 2012 - 05:34 PM

So whenever I try playing 3s in Skype I get random lag spikes.

Specifically the other person's voice in Skype will go fuzzy simultaneous with WoW lag chops, it's extremely annoying and does not occur with vent but I prefer Skype to vent for arena.

My processor is an AMD Phenom II x6 3.6GHz 6 core processor so I don't think its my CPU, I also have G.Skill 16Gb DDR3 1600MHz Ram, so I really do not understand why I get lag.  My MS on WoW Will read between 20-40 always, it never spikes up.

According to speedtest.net my download is 28.36Mbps and my upload is 11.84Mpbs.

If anyone knows what the issue could be let me know please.

(Also I do not host the Skype calls)

Edited by rageTG, 22 April 2012 - 05:49 PM.


#2 Shadowtwist

Shadowtwist
  • LocationRiyadh, Saudi Arabia

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:01 PM

Did u try changing ur skype version?
Posted Image

#3 rageTG

rageTG

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:19 PM

View PostShadowtwist, on 22 April 2012 - 06:01 PM, said:

Did u try changing ur skype version?

No don't really know how to.

#4

  • Junkies
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • EU-Neptulon
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Talents: Marksmanship 0/0/2/2/1/0
  • LocationGermany

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:34 PM

I once had a problem that as soon as I entered the arena or when the doors opened (can't remember exactly anymore) I was not able to communicate with my mates anymore. After the game everything working it's usual way again.
Installing the previous version of skype fixed my problem. Problem lays some years in the past though. But maybe just try if it works out for you.

Edited by Stubsy, 22 April 2012 - 06:35 PM.


#5 ApplejackxD

ApplejackxD
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Outland
  • Misery
  • Posts: 1212
  • Talents: Discipline
  • RBG: 2371

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:37 PM

View PostStubsy, on 22 April 2012 - 06:34 PM, said:

I once had a problem that as soon as I entered the arena or when the doors opened (can't remember exactly anymore) I was not able to communicate with my mates anymore. After the game everything working it's usual way again.
Installing the previous version of skype fixed my problem. Problem lays some years in the past though. But maybe just try if it works out for you.

I dont think this is what he is talking about, this was caused by 1 or 2 versions of skype back in 2008/2009 but it is long fixed by the skypecrew.
Posted Image

#6 shakeweightx

shakeweightx
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 95
  • Talents: Feral 1/0/2/1/2/.
  • LocationNJ

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:37 PM

mine was lagging my wow and crashing my skype

http://community.sky...p/239410/page/9



this worked for me....click on the 1st link that they posted the skype.com/ get skype full link
Posted Image

#7

  • Junkies
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • EU-Neptulon
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Talents: Marksmanship 0/0/2/2/1/0
  • LocationGermany

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:39 PM

View PostApplejackxD, on 22 April 2012 - 06:37 PM, said:

I dont think this is what he is talking about, this was caused by 1 or 2 versions of skype back in 2008/2009 but it is long fixed by the skypecrew.
I actually just wanted to point out that there're can be problems with running skype and wow at the same time. It's ofc a completely different problem. I'd anyways just try to install a previous version of the program and see what happens.
I am sorry if my weird posts are being misunderstood. I blame my country.

#8 rageTG

rageTG

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:52 PM

Can someone tell me how to change skype version ?

#9 shakeweightx

shakeweightx
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 95
  • Talents: Feral 1/0/2/1/2/.
  • LocationNJ

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:57 PM

i linked you it

http://www.skype.com...kype-beta-full/


it will bring up the file on the bottom of ur web browser or w/e u have...then u click on it to download it and it overwrites your current skype

it worked for me, should help you too
Posted Image

#10 rageTG

rageTG

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:59 PM

oh yea i downloaded that i thought that was just a reinstall

Cause it looks identical to the one i had

Edited by rageTG, 22 April 2012 - 06:59 PM.


#11 Unappealing

Unappealing
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 328
  • Talents: Frost 0/2/0/2/2/.

Posted 22 April 2012 - 07:17 PM

View Postshakeweightx, on 22 April 2012 - 06:57 PM, said:

i linked you it

http://www.skype.com...kype-beta-full/


it will bring up the file on the bottom of ur web browser or w/e u have...then u click on it to download it and it overwrites your current skype

it worked for me, should help you too
<3

#12 shakeweightx

shakeweightx
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 95
  • Talents: Feral 1/0/2/1/2/.
  • LocationNJ

Posted 22 April 2012 - 08:00 PM

View PostUnappealing, on 22 April 2012 - 07:17 PM, said:

<3
hey rackaz >.>
Posted Image

#13 Madbird

Madbird
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Sylvanas
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 147
  • Talents: Subtlety

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:31 PM

Seems like ur getting Ddosed from the one ur calling

hehe

Dunno how to help u out try fully deleting skype and reinstall,could also check up on ur prosessor thing while in a call,Or get lucky and find somone here that knows alot about computers!

#14 Lewisxo

Lewisxo
  • Members
  • Posts: 477

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:39 PM

Just a general tip whenever you've got wow open, open task manager go to processes and right click on wow and set the priority to high, this can increase fps a bit as you're asking the processor to make wow the number 1 priority, it has nothing to do with the issues you are having with skype causing wow problems though but i highly recommend doing it.

On topic: i highly suggest you go to a previous version of skype by uninstalling it by the option on control panel and finding a download link to a previous version of skype.
www.justin.tv/lewisyomage check out my stream and remember to hit the follow button :) i'll be streaming in 1080p around feb-march time!

#15 shakeweightx

shakeweightx
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 95
  • Talents: Feral 1/0/2/1/2/.
  • LocationNJ

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:35 PM

what exactly will doing that do, cuz i never noticed a difference
Posted Image

#16 kingston

kingston
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Kel'Thuzad
  • Nightfall
  • Posts: 11
  • Talents: Arms
  • RBG: 384

Posted 23 April 2012 - 04:13 AM

http://www.oldapps.com/skype.php

#17 rageTG

rageTG

Posted 25 April 2012 - 04:22 PM

Problem still exists, downloading older version didn't fix.

#18 ss2b24

ss2b24
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Illidan
  • Rampage
  • Posts: 580
  • Talents: Destruction 0/2/2/0/2/0
  • 2v2: 1885
  • 3v3: 2285
  • 5v5: 1842
  • RBG: 2112
  • Locationflooorida

Posted 25 April 2012 - 04:30 PM

get your partners to use mumble?!?!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<