Jump to content

Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Necrolina

Necrolina
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Auchindoun
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 401
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2313

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:05 AM

I'm just about to go from XP to Win7, but seeing how there are something like 4 different versions to consider I'd like to know which one is supposed to be the best for my needs.

Basically im only planning to play WoW on it, watch movies and fraps / edit - which I suppose ain't so special and any kind of OS could do it. However, my PC isn't exactly new so im not sure whether a 64bit version for one would be a good idea.

What I have right now is a Core 2 Duo 2800, 4 gigs of Ram and a 4890 ATI card.

So in short, which win7 should I go for and should I attempt going for the 64bit version or the good old 32?

#2 Accesoir

Accesoir
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Turalyon
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 4
  • Talents: Arms 0/1/1/1/0/0
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:13 AM

Hello there!

The difference within Windows 7 32bit & 64bit is mainly the Limit on Memory Usage.
I'll link you the Official Windows 7 Table:

Physical Memory Limits: Windows 7
The following table specifies the limits on physical memory for Windows 7.

Version ------------------------| X86(32bit)VS | X64 (64bit)

Windows 7 Ultimate ---------| 4 GB ----------| 192 GB
Windows 7 Enterprise -------| 4 GB ----------| 192 GB
Windows 7 Professional -----| 4 GB ----------| 192 GB
Windows 7 Home Premium -| 4 GB ----------| 16 GB
Windows 7 Home Basic -----| 4 GB ----------| 8 GB
Windows 7 Starter ------------| 2 GB ----------| N/A

So basically, your memory usage depends on the Windows System, any amount above the limit is... worthless.
Memory Limits for Windows 7 -This is the link to the table(s).

And you could check if the programs you're planning on using are compatible with both -bit systems. The most of them are though.
It would be a waste to get the 32 bit, if you're planning on upgrading your computer. Because then you're just limiting yourself.

Just my 2cents.
Ørcasm - Human Warrior || Magian - Human Mage || Psychik - Human Death Knight

#3 Necrolina

Necrolina
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Auchindoun
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 401
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2313

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:21 AM

Thanks for the information. I do not plan on getting any major upgrades in the foreseeable future. The table clarifies most of the questions I had about the 32/64 bit versions, however, I still have no idea if its worth getting, for example, the 7 professional over home premium.

#4 Shiftix

Shiftix
  • Members
  • Worgenclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 42
  • Talents: Balance 2/1/2/1/1/.
  • LocationFinland

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:27 AM

I would say get the Win 7 home premium x64 bit version, there shouldn't be any (major) price differences between x32 and x64, so even if you don't plan on upgrading your computer, why the hell not? Professional is not needed imo if you are only gonna do what you said.
The difference between Home Premium and Professional is that on professional you can do the following:
-Run many Windows XP business programs in Windows XP Mode (separate download).
-Connect to company networks easily and more securely with Domain Join.
-In addition to full-system Backup and Restore found in all editions, you can back up to a home or business network.

Source: http://windows.micro...roducts/compare

EDIT: Have fun paying like 60€ more for that. I would definitely get the Home Premium. (And this is coming from a computer science student.)

#5 Nez

Nez
  • Junkies
  • Goblinclass_name
  • EU-Sunstrider
  • Blackout
  • Posts: 2590
  • Talents: Beast Mastery 1/0/0/2/2/.

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:48 AM

64 bit home basic should be more than fine for any use.

#6 Necrolina

Necrolina
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Auchindoun
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 401
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2313

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:04 AM

View PostShiftix, on 04 April 2012 - 10:27 AM, said:

I would say get the Win 7 home premium x64 bit version, there shouldn't be any (major) price differences between x32 and x64

Posted Image

#7 Nez

Nez
  • Junkies
  • Goblinclass_name
  • EU-Sunstrider
  • Blackout
  • Posts: 2590
  • Talents: Beast Mastery 1/0/0/2/2/.

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:33 AM

View PostNecrolina, on 04 April 2012 - 11:04 AM, said:

Posted Image

oem master race

#8 Necrolina

Necrolina
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Auchindoun
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 401
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2313

Posted 04 April 2012 - 01:10 PM

At the end of the day I guess my last remaining question is this:

If I run WoW on a 64bit system the game will basically go through a 32bit emulator (as far as I understood) instead of being ran in its native 32 bit enviorment. This should, in theory, be more demanding on my CPU, which is arguably the weakest part of my build. Will and should this in any way cripple my frapsing capabilities, which is already quite demanding on my processor?

Edited by Necrolina, 04 April 2012 - 01:11 PM.


#9 Accesoir

Accesoir
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Turalyon
  • Cyclone / Wirbelsturm
  • Posts: 4
  • Talents: Arms 0/1/1/1/0/0
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 04 April 2012 - 01:15 PM

Well, Blizzard has released a 64bit client since last month. I'm using it and its stable, haven't had any errors or problems with it. I'd say give it a shot! Or am I missing your point?

The 64bit-Client Link Official WoW-Forum
Ørcasm - Human Warrior || Magian - Human Mage || Psychik - Human Death Knight

#10 Nez

Nez
  • Junkies
  • Goblinclass_name
  • EU-Sunstrider
  • Blackout
  • Posts: 2590
  • Talents: Beast Mastery 1/0/0/2/2/.

Posted 04 April 2012 - 01:16 PM

View PostNecrolina, on 04 April 2012 - 01:10 PM, said:

At the end of the day I guess my last remaining question is this:

If I run WoW on a 64bit system the game will basically go through a 32bit emulator (as far as I understood) instead of being ran in its native 32 bit enviorment. This should, in theory, be more demanding on my CPU, which is arguably the weakest part of my build. Will and should this in any way cripple my frapsing capabilities, which is already quite demanding on my processor?

It won't cause any performance loss, and didn't wow get a 64 bit client recently?

#11 Necrolina

Necrolina
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Auchindoun
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 401
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/2/2/0
  • RBG: 2313

Posted 04 April 2012 - 01:39 PM

View PostNez, on 04 April 2012 - 01:16 PM, said:

It won't cause any performance loss, and didn't wow get a 64 bit client recently?

I was under the impression that the 64bit version of WoW was developed behind the 32 bit and it wasn't getting immediate client updates with each patch. At least that was the case when the last content patch hit and those players that were already trying out the new 64bit ver. had to go back to the original version, but then again I guess it has been fixed by now.

Thanks for all the help :)

#12 Shiftix

Shiftix
  • Members
  • Worgenclass_name
  • EU-Alonsus
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 42
  • Talents: Balance 2/1/2/1/1/.
  • LocationFinland

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:06 PM

View PostNecrolina, on 04 April 2012 - 11:04 AM, said:

Posted Image

I should have seen that coming, god damn it :D
Spoiler


#13 Pharaun

Pharaun
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:20 AM

View PostNecrolina, on 04 April 2012 - 01:10 PM, said:

At the end of the day I guess my last remaining question is this:

If I run WoW on a 64bit system the game will basically go through a 32bit emulator (as far as I understood) instead of being ran in its native 32 bit enviorment. This should, in theory, be more demanding on my CPU, which is arguably the weakest part of my build. Will and should this in any way cripple my frapsing capabilities, which is already quite demanding on my processor?
x86_64 is backwards compatible with x86.  You do not need a separate binary, and you do not need emulation.  All modern 64 bit processors (of the x86 variety) can run all the stuff that the old 32 bit processors (of the x86 variety) could.
"Who, after all, is today speaking of the destruction of the Armenians?"

-Adolf Hitler, 1939




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<