Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Help

How to Stop DDoS


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 aquatics

aquatics
  • Junkies
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 33
  • Talents: Protection 1/1/1/1/1/0
  • RBG: 2224

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:45 AM

*
POPULAR

Hello, my name is Merkx, and today I will show you how to stop DDoS/other internet problems. (If you know you're being DDoSd skip ahead to the bold)

1) If your internet is working for some applications and not others (i.e. skype works but WoW is lagging out) then you are NOT being DDoS'd. In most cases it means the DNS server you use is not working properly (comcast DNS servers are shit). If you have not set a DNS server then you are probably using your Internet Service Providers IP. I recommend switching to Google's or OpenDNS's server. Here's how:

http://i.imgur.com/I2VGU.png > right click your current connection and go to properties > press Internet Protocol Version 4 > properties > http://i.imgur.com/edr62.png

Mine is set to google's DNS servers, you can use whichever you want.

2) DDoS. You know you're being DDoSd if you gradually begin to lag on all programs using the internet and then disconnect from them. Sudden disconnects usually do not involve DDoS. People that DDoS you usually obtain your IP through skype or twitch tv and the amount of people that can DDoS you on the spot is surprisingly low **Do not go to DDoS as the first thing you blame when you disconnect from WoW**

But here is how to stop DDoS if you know you're being DDoSd:

Log into your router > find your mac address (should look like this http://i.imgur.com/6X5oc.png)> change one of the numbers to another number > save your settings and restart your modem

Don't change your mac address too many times per day as it might cause some problems with your ISP but this should change your IP making it impossible for the DDoSer to target you unless he/she gets your new IP (through skype/twitch/etc). Note: Doing ipconfig/release or restarting your modem/router alone will not stop DDoS.

Further Protection: If your attacker keeps finding your IP after changing your mac address try getting a VPN program like HotSpot Shield to "spoof" your IP after you have changed it.
Edit: More stuff to spoof your IP (use whichever lags you the least)
http://www.dreamvpn.us/index.php
https://www.torproject.org/

Happy Streaming.

Edited by aquatics, 28 February 2012 - 05:57 AM.


#2 Mity

Mity
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Mal'Ganis
  • Stormstrike
  • Posts: 990
  • Talents: ./././././.
  • LocationOKC

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:46 AM

my plans have been ruined
@shitixmikesays

#3 hearthadinlol

hearthadinlol
  • Kaska
  • Junkies
  • Dwarfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 363
  • Talents: Restoration 0/2/1/1/0/0
  • RBG: 192

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:55 AM

u got the biggest rat dick if this really works <3 good post
Posted Image

#4 Chandler

Chandler
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 48
  • Talents: Unholy 2/0/0/0/2/2
  • RBG: 2098

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:57 AM

and thus kaska lives another day

#5 Raystigz

Raystigz
  • Premium Junkies
  • Curse Premium
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Shadowmoon
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 1070
  • Talents: Frost 0/2/0/2/2/2
  • RBG: 959
  • LocationNew York

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:01 AM

Posted Image you should be +reping me for teaching you how to use hyperdesktop
twitch.tv/Raystigz stream maybe someday i'll start using it again

#6 aquatics

aquatics
  • Junkies
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 33
  • Talents: Protection 1/1/1/1/1/0
  • RBG: 2224

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:04 AM

View PostRaystigz, on 24 February 2012 - 04:01 AM, said:

Posted Image you should be +reping me for teaching you how to use hyperdesktop

+repped

#7 crazieh

crazieh
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Sylvanas
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 573
  • Talents: Shadow 1/1/0/1/2/1
  • 2v2: 2038
  • 3v3: 2593
  • RBG: 2173

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:12 AM

If you have a dynamic IP and reboot your router (which changes your IP), then wouldn't it have the same effect? Is your MAC key suggestion for static IP only or is this a better way even for people with Dynamic IP addresses?

Thanks for the suggestion btw!

#8 aquatics

aquatics
  • Junkies
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 33
  • Talents: Protection 1/1/1/1/1/0
  • RBG: 2224

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:27 AM

View Postcrazieh, on 24 February 2012 - 04:12 AM, said:

If you have a dynamic IP and reboot your router (which changes your IP), then wouldn't it have the same effect? Is your MAC key suggestion for static IP only or is this a better way even for people with Dynamic IP addresses?

Thanks for the suggestion btw!

Yeah, if you have a dynamic IP and reset your router it will not help.

Edit: had a brain fart.

Edited by aquatics, 24 February 2012 - 04:35 AM.


#9 bcx

bcx
  • Junkies
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Eredar
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 53
  • Talents: Shadow 1/2/1/1/2/1
  • RBG: 1980

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:32 AM

View Postaquatics, on 24 February 2012 - 04:27 AM, said:

Yeah, if you have a dynamic IP and reset your router it will not change your IP.


<3 bcox out

#10 crazieh

crazieh
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Sylvanas
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 573
  • Talents: Shadow 1/1/0/1/2/1
  • 2v2: 2038
  • 3v3: 2593
  • RBG: 2173

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:36 AM

View Postaquatics, on 24 February 2012 - 04:27 AM, said:

Yeah, if you have a dynamic IP and reset your router it will not change your IP.

Okay, so even if my IP is different after a router reboot according to a site like www.whatismyip.com it's still not really changed?

Thanks

edit: saw your edit and makes more sense!

Edited by crazieh, 24 February 2012 - 04:45 AM.


#11 Zigenz

Zigenz
  • Zigenxo
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 1080
  • Talents: Marksmanship
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:27 AM

I can't be DDoS'd, at all, ever.
[10:18:48] [W From] [85:Mythíc]: who sits a multiglad?
[10:18:58] [W From] [85:Mythíc]: you dont sit multi glads, you suck their balls and thank them after

#12 yusehz

yusehz
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Darkspear
  • Cyclone
  • Posts: 763
  • Talents: ./././././.
  • RBG: 2465
  • Locationchina

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:40 AM

View PostZigenz, on 24 February 2012 - 05:27 AM, said:

I can't be DDoS'd, at all, ever.

who on earth would bother d'dosing you. you'll be stuck in the 1800s regardless.
Posted Image
www.twitch.tv/yusehz
www.youtube.com/user/yusehz/

#13 Mstrkrftz

Mstrkrftz
  • Junkies
  • Dwarfclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 273
  • Talents: Restoration

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:49 AM

View Postyusehz, on 24 February 2012 - 05:40 AM, said:

who on earth would bother d'dosing you. you'll be stuck in the 1800s regardless.

GOT EM CY@@@@@@@@@
http://soundcloud.co...-will-monde-and

NEW ELECTRO / PROG MIX!!

enjoy.

#14 sudar

sudar
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Korgath
  • Vengeance
  • Posts: 271
  • Talents:
  • RBG: 2334
  • Locationgreenbank military base brisbane

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:02 AM

View Postyusehz, on 24 February 2012 - 05:40 AM, said:

who on earth would bother d'dosing you. you'll be stuck in the 1800s regardless.
TEHE~

#15 Zigenz

Zigenz
  • Zigenxo
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 1080
  • Talents: Marksmanship
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:20 AM

View Postyusehz, on 24 February 2012 - 05:40 AM, said:

who on earth would bother d'dosing you. you'll be stuck in the 1800s regardless.

I haven't been stuck in the 1800s since s1 rofl nt though cata hero.
[10:18:48] [W From] [85:Mythíc]: who sits a multiglad?
[10:18:58] [W From] [85:Mythíc]: you dont sit multi glads, you suck their balls and thank them after

#16 komma

komma
  • Junkies
  • Unknown Raceclass_name
  • US-Kel'Thuzad
  • Nightfall
  • Posts: 141
  • Talents: Mistweaver 1/0/2/0/0/1
  • 2v2: 1932
  • 3v3: 2079
  • 5v5: 1452
  • RBG: 1839

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:52 AM

Try to stay on topic instead of who or who isn't in the 1800's

#17 Bleikfeiten

Bleikfeiten
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Talnivarr
  • Reckoning / Abrechnung
  • Posts: 747
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 24 February 2012 - 08:40 AM

The easiest way to avoid DDoS is to pay for a 5 bucks / month proxy, put everything except wow on it, then play as you like. If they manage to get ur IP somehow, it's the proxy one, and if their even able to take that down you still wont DC.

Usually the proxies you pay for have advanced networking that can resist "noob" ddosing aswell.

#18 yarubi

yarubi
  • Junkies
  • Gnomeclass_name
  • EU-Aegwynn
  • Blutdurst
  • Posts: 769
  • Talents: Arms 2/1/1/1/1/1
  • RBG: 2309

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:06 AM

can you pls delete your post? how shall I ever achieve gladiator again???

#19 Synkz

Synkz
  • Junkies
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Blood Furnace
  • Retaliation
  • Posts: 2665
  • Talents: Destruction 0/2/0/0/2/.

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:25 AM

came here from Zilea stream

#20 ñåéé

ñåéé
  • Junkies
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Naxxramas
  • Sturmangriff / Charge
  • Posts: 119
  • Talents: Protection 1/2/2/2/0/2

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:37 AM

View PostBleikfeiten, on 24 February 2012 - 08:40 AM, said:

The easiest way to avoid DDoS is to pay for a 5 bucks / month proxy, put everything except wow on it, then play as you like. If they manage to get ur IP somehow, it's the proxy one, and if their even able to take that down you still wont DC.

Usually the proxies you pay for have advanced networking that can resist "noob" ddosing aswell.
Me and my mate's used to have a proxy....Then we met this guy that wanted rank 1 and i got DDoS'd to oblivion and back ;-(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<