Jump to content

Photo

The latency reducing program


  • Please log in to reply
289 replies to this topic

#41 keLston

keLston
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Eredar
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 2,067
  • Talents: Marksmanship

Posted 15 June 2008 - 01:19 AM

You run the setup.exe program and click Apply -> Reboot.
  • 0

#42 Xandos

Xandos
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Deathwing
  • Nightfall
  • Posts: 574
  • Talents: Assassination

Posted 15 June 2008 - 02:14 AM

Yeah the Curse version is clean as a brick and it works too. Went from 150ish ping to 60-90.
  • 0

#43 Sabotaj

Sabotaj
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Medivh
  • Ruin
  • Posts: 15
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 17 June 2008 - 11:25 PM

Does the curse one work with vista 32bit?
  • 0

#44 blackfoot

blackfoot
  • Members
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Spinebreaker
  • Rampage
  • Posts: 565
  • Talents: Elemental

Posted 17 June 2008 - 11:39 PM

If I try running the program again will it mess up my shit? I don't remember if I still have this installed.
  • 0
It is hard to stay mad when there is so much beauty in the world.
Posted Image

#45 Sabotaj

Sabotaj
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Medivh
  • Ruin
  • Posts: 15
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 18 June 2008 - 12:52 AM

I have vista 32 bit, i tried the prgram, went from 250ms to 80ms. :)
  • 0

#46 cheeN

cheeN
  • Members
  • Goblinclass_name
  • US-Frostwolf
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 1
  • Talents: Arcane

Posted 20 June 2008 - 04:29 PM

im east but i play frostwolf went from 250-300 to steady 100=125 it works
  • 0
NBA (nothing but asians)

#47 Kaspara

Kaspara
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Bonechewer
  • Reckoning
  • Posts: 28
  • Talents:

Posted 21 June 2008 - 10:46 AM

this program is amazing, went from the 250-300 ping I've always played with to 50-60 (im using vista). I knew something was wrong with my latency but didn't know what i could do about it til now... and didn't expect such a huge drop in ping

Why is this only sticked here and not elsewhere? I wish i found out about it long ago
  • 0

#48 Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Posted 25 June 2008 - 07:22 AM

thanks for the tips! my heals are coming through much better now!
  • 0
Treadstone - Holy Paladin
<Knuckle Sandwich> Uldum

#49 Kadrix

Kadrix
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • US-Tichondrius
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 6,368
  • Talents: Retribution 2/0/0/1/1/.

Posted 26 June 2008 - 07:37 PM

Does the curse one work with vista 32bit?


Yep
  • 0
Posted Image

#50 Beargrylls

Beargrylls
  • Members
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Blackrock
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 10
  • Talents: Balance

Posted 26 June 2008 - 08:39 PM

This is what the ACK-freq program does in a nutshell, if you're knowledgeable enough to venture into your registry. (I've made a few edits to clarify for people who aren't very familiar with computers or are scared to mess with registry files.)



If this guide (which is copy+pasted from an MMO-Champion thread, sans my edits) isn't enough for someone to feel comfortable doing it, I can take screenshots of each step.


holy sh!t man, thanks! lowered my ping from ~200 average down to 65 :D
  • 0

#51 Sarcazm

Sarcazm
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Burning Steppes
  • Cruelty / Crueldad
  • Posts: 2
  • Talents: Subtlety

Posted 26 June 2008 - 08:46 PM

From 800 ms to 150-250

Edited by Sarcazm, 04 July 2008 - 11:41 AM.

  • 0

#52 desekrator

desekrator
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Antonidas
  • Emberstorm
  • Posts: 28
  • Talents: Frost

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:02 PM

worked for me, went from 250-400 ms to 150-200
  • 0

#53 Kyshiara

Kyshiara
  • Members
  • Posts: 3

Posted 06 July 2008 - 11:34 PM

Worked for me too, droped about 100-150 Ms to 170ish, only problem is i started getting random FPS drops to 1 from 40-50ish, even in WSG with out much AOE or anything going on . . but as soon as i reverted the change everything was back to normal. (I tried tweaking my graphics down abit, with no success) Anyone else expereince this at all? :S This is with the manual edit btw.

Edit: Oh and i'm using XP

Edited by Kyshiara, 06 July 2008 - 11:37 PM.

  • 0

#54 MisterMerf

MisterMerf
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Nathrezim
  • Reckoning
  • Posts: 10
  • Talents: Feral Combat

Posted 10 July 2008 - 09:01 PM

Worked for me too, droped about 100-150 Ms to 170ish, only problem is i started getting random FPS drops to 1 from 40-50ish, even in WSG with out much AOE or anything going on . . but as soon as i reverted the change everything was back to normal. (I tried tweaking my graphics down abit, with no success) Anyone else expereince this at all? :S This is with the manual edit btw.
Edit: Oh and i'm using XP

Yes, I experienced the same thing when I tried this awhile back.

I'm personally using a crappy router and I wonder if it simply couldn't handle the increased traffic reliably. But that's just speculation.
  • 0

#55 Quake

Quake
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-Blackrock
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 2
  • Talents: Assassination

Posted 13 July 2008 - 05:25 PM

Using the registry tweak, I went from about 400-500ms, down to 200-250ms.

I could really tell the difference, when it came to spamming instant casts. What I'm really wondering is how much effect a service such as lowerping has.

Cosmetically, my ping in game is lowered to 150ms but I've come to the conclusion that it isn't a real indication of my ping to the server, it's just the ping i get to the lowerping server.

I can understand how it may lower your latency, by optimising the path to the server but is there any real way to check???
  • 0

#56 Helvete

Helvete

Posted 13 July 2008 - 11:15 PM

Was at 380 or so now at 140!

Thanks for the thread.
  • 0

#57 Shika

Shika
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Azshara
  • Glutsturm / Emberstorm
  • Posts: 68
  • Talents: Subtlety

Posted 14 July 2008 - 09:18 AM

always had 200ms or sumthin now at 40-50ms
  • 0

#58 Treehugger

Treehugger
  • Members
  • Goblinclass_name
  • EU-Frostwhisper
  • Rampage / Saccage
  • Posts: 181
  • Talents:

Posted 14 July 2008 - 09:39 AM

Worked for me too, droped about 100-150 Ms to 170ish, only problem is i started getting random FPS drops to 1 from 40-50ish, even in WSG with out much AOE or anything going on . . but as soon as i reverted the change everything was back to normal. (I tried tweaking my graphics down abit, with no success) Anyone else expereince this at all? :S This is with the manual edit btw.

Edit: Oh and i'm using XP


this is happening to me too on Vista. How do you revert the changes?
  • 0

#59 ChrisHH

ChrisHH
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • EU-Dethecus
  • Embuscade / Hinterhalt
  • Posts: 33
  • Talents: Combat

Posted 14 July 2008 - 10:21 AM

This is what the ACK-freq program does in a nutshell, if you're knowledgeable enough to venture into your registry. (I've made a few edits to clarify for people who aren't very familiar with computers or are scared to mess with registry files.)
If this guide (which is copy+pasted from an MMO-Champion thread, sans my edits) isn't enough for someone to feel comfortable doing it, I can take screenshots of each step.


4) Determine which interface is for your IP. The correct interface will have a DhcpIPAddress set to your current IP.

Peavy: this is displayed to the right after clicking one of the directories mentioned earlier, and should be the fifth or sixth entry down.


5) Right-click on the interface and select New->DWORD

Peavy: right click anywhere in the area that has your IP displayed nexted to the DhcpIPAddress entry.

6) Set the name to TcpAckFrequency (case sensitive)

Peavy: right click->rename.


hmm.. u want me to rename "DhcpIPAddress" into "TcpAckFrequency" at the right window?
if i right click on "DhcpIPAddress" i just can chance the ip adress and not the name ot the it.
  • 0

#60 Dante

Dante
  • Junkies
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Dunemaul
  • Cataclysme / Cataclysm
  • Posts: 3,266
  • Talents: Arms
  • RBG: 384
  • LocationSarajevo

Posted 14 July 2008 - 11:47 AM

You don't remane it, you use the DhcpIPAdress to locate the right "folder" to create the DWORD "TcpAckFrequency" in.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<