Jump to content

Photo

The latency reducing program


  • Please log in to reply
289 replies to this topic

#21 Vona

Vona
  • Members
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Ghostlands
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 42
  • Talents:

Posted 03 March 2008 - 09:06 AM

I used this one from the other thread... http://files.filefro...;/fileinfo.html

Playing on Blizz EU from NW England....
350-700ms (and above) down to 40-60ms.

I never see it peak over 100 anymore, and it actually took me some time getting used to buffering my fire spells instead of the usual 'spam the next key and hope for the best' 2345 setup, I see stuff in realtime now so from what I can see it actually works.
  • 0

#22 Hotsushi

Hotsushi
  • Members
  • Taurenclass_name
  • US-Kil'jaeden
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 49
  • Talents: Restoration 1/0/2/1/0/0

Posted 04 March 2008 - 12:20 PM

I'm running Vista. I did the Vista fix a while back and went down to under 100ms. But now I'm back up to 150-300 at any given time.

Is this still a usable fix?



I did all the noted stuff for Vista a cpl days ago. My latency has gone from 130-200, down to 40-60.

So yea, it still helps in 2.3
  • 0

#23 Banksz

Banksz
  • Junkies
  • Posts: 4

Posted 15 March 2008 - 11:23 PM

I went with the program Tyveris linked.

http://www.curse.com.../details/10599/

Went from 300-450 to 40-60 latency.

Thanks for the help Tyveris!
  • 0
Banksz

#24 dude846

dude846
  • Members
  • Undeadclass_name
  • US-Scarlet Crusade
  • Reckoning
  • Posts: 55
  • Talents: Combat

Posted 17 March 2008 - 04:49 AM

Can anyone confirm is there's a keylogger in that program (The one linked by Tyveris), or it's just somebody just blowing a fake cry?
  • 0
[ Armory ] Ghdat. Undead Rogue. Rank 14.
[ Armory ] Tadhg. Human Rogue. Rank 14
"No matter the changes to the rogue class, I will do my best through the good and the bad."

#25 Nukez

Nukez
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Sargeras
  • Shadowburn
  • Posts: 70
  • Talents: Affliction

Posted 17 March 2008 - 09:05 PM

The second registry fix to disable Nagle algorithm on Win2k/XP is as follows:

Type "regedit" in windows "run.." dialog to bring up registry menu

Then find:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MSMQ\Parameters

Right-click in the right hand pane and add a new DWORD value, name it TCPNoDelay, then right click the entry and click Modify and assign a value of 1.

Click Ok and close the registry editor, then reboot your PC.

Basically, this fix is deactivating the Nagle algorithm to improve your ping. If you don't want to do it you can just wait for the 2.3.2 patch as it's supposed to deactivate it too, but I don't think you can test it on PTRs right now because the updated patch notes from the latest PTR Build (7705) are actually for the upcoming build (7710).


This is an exact copy and past from mmo-champion, I still have it enabled on my computer with no problems.

This registry edit and the other one mentioned in this thread do the changes from that fasterping program which was linked. If you are paranoid about keyloggers and are comfortable editing the registry then you can just do the 2 registry changes yourself.
  • 0

#26 Unforgotten

Unforgotten
  • Members
  • Goblinclass_name
  • EU-Blackmoore
  • Glutsturm / Emberstorm
  • Posts: 25
  • Talents: Subtlety

Posted 17 March 2008 - 10:31 PM

this should be sticky .. nice prog .. used it and from 100-150 to 30-40 ms.

thx for the links =)
  • 0

#27 Ayah

Ayah
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • EU-Executus
  • Reckoning / Abrechnung
  • Posts: 35
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 18 March 2008 - 10:59 AM

Never heard of it, gonna try it when I get back from work - ty
  • 0
Proud leader of CH-CH-CH-CHEESUS UNIT.

#28 Residual

Residual
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Illidan
  • Rampage
  • Posts: 11
  • Talents: Assassination

Posted 18 March 2008 - 04:31 PM

interesting.
  • 0

#29 Ryld

Ryld
  • Members
  • Worgenclass_name
  • US-Nagrand
  • Bloodlust
  • Posts: 2
  • Talents: Protection

Posted 18 March 2008 - 11:18 PM

Australian gamers on the ISP Internode can use their gateway, similar setup to Lowerping at no cost. Kind of cool I usually sit between 180-220ms. (Beats my usual 400-600 without!)
  • 0

#30 Felthor

Felthor
  • Members
  • Blood Elfclass_name
  • EU-Magtheridon
  • Raserei / Frenzy
  • Posts: 6
  • Talents:

Posted 09 May 2008 - 05:57 PM

i tried the regedit fixes, but i went from 150ms, to 250 ms? any ideas? :o
  • 0

#31 Krazyxkill

Krazyxkill
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Dragonblight
  • Cyclone
  • Posts: 54
  • Talents: Holy

Posted 19 May 2008 - 12:28 PM

Does anyone know if it really works? and that it doesnt carry any viruses and whatnot? I really want to try but reluctant to use it because fear of key loggers lol. I want to see if i notice big differences in having 200~300 ms down to like 100 or something.


Im now sure where you are from but if you are from Australia or somewhere near by then www.lowerping.com kicks ass :) $6 a month and it drops my ping from 600-200 :)
  • 0

#32 Mefreh

Mefreh
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-The Venture Co
  • Nightfall
  • Posts: 68
  • Talents: Fury

Posted 19 May 2008 - 02:05 PM

Anyone know if this works for satellite internet?
/QQ 700-800 ping on a good day
  • 0

#33 Rooibos

Rooibos
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • EU-Forscherliga
  • Embuscade / Hinterhalt
  • Posts: 28
  • Talents:

Posted 20 May 2008 - 01:33 PM

satellite internet? do you live on the moon? this sux for gaming. the fix won't reduce your latency very much. get another connection if you can.
  • 0

#34 kyotee

kyotee
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Muradin
  • Vengeance
  • Posts: 1
  • Talents: Arms

Posted 20 May 2008 - 01:53 PM

Im now sure where you are from but if you are from Australia or somewhere near by then www.lowerping.com kicks ass :) $6 a month and it drops my ping from 600-200 :)


http://www.curse.com.../details/10599/ ... you got ripped $6, bro!
  • 0

#35 Mefreh

Mefreh
  • Members
  • Orcclass_name
  • US-The Venture Co
  • Nightfall
  • Posts: 68
  • Talents: Fury

Posted 20 May 2008 - 05:57 PM

satellite internet? do you live on the moon? this sux for gaming. the fix won't reduce your latency very much. get another connection if you can.


I wish I lived on the moon, I'd see people more often there.
  • 0

#36 KhadyMagic

KhadyMagic
  • Members
  • Humanclass_name
  • US-Spirestone
  • Reckoning
  • Posts: 30
  • Talents: Fire

Posted 11 June 2008 - 01:26 PM

Can anyone reputable tell me if the Curse version created by Phen0m is a keylogger/virus or is it actually legit? I *really* want to reduce my ping (around 300), but I'd like to do it without getting my account hacked.
  • 0

#37 hoopgirl40

hoopgirl40
  • Members
  • Gnomeclass_name
  • US-Cenarion Circle
  • Whirlwind
  • Posts: 1
  • Talents: Shadow

Posted 11 June 2008 - 01:52 PM

hey i was wondering if this works for wireless broadband? For those who dont know what that is, its basically a device for laptops so you dont have to use wireless access at like a wifi spot. (verizon wireless) my latency is normally from anywhere at 1000-2000ms. But even though the latency is high, things seem to run better than what i was on, which was dial up running from 700ms-5k and beyond. (incoming information is higher now so i dont lag like dial up)
I'd like to give the registry a try.
  • 0

#38 keLston

keLston
  • Members
  • Night Elfclass_name
  • US-Eredar
  • Vindication
  • Posts: 2,067
  • Talents: Marksmanship

Posted 14 June 2008 - 11:53 PM

Can anyone reputable tell me if the Curse version created by Phen0m is a keylogger/virus or is it actually legit? I *really* want to reduce my ping (around 300), but I'd like to do it without getting my account hacked.


Who's someone reputable? The dude that runs this site, Tyveris, is the one who linked it. That's not reputable enough?

Regardless, just downloaded it.

Scanned with Kaspersky AV 7.0.0.125 using virus definitions dated 6-14-2008 1:35:50pm EDT (GMT-5). Came back clean.

EDIT:

Further scanned using the service provided at Virustotal.com. The only AV engine that flagged it as anything but clean is Prevx1 having flagged it as suspicious. Though the Prevx report on said file seems completely wrong.

Edited by keLston, 14 June 2008 - 11:58 PM.

  • 0

#39 Dooters

Dooters
  • Members
  • Draeneiclass_name
  • EU-Xavius
  • Glutsturm / Emberstorm
  • Posts: 386
  • Talents: Elemental

Posted 14 June 2008 - 11:58 PM

The curse version is clean of viruses and keyloggers. I prefer doing it manually anyway, the less programs you have the better :)
  • 0

#40 Gankkiskhan

Gankkiskhan

Posted 15 June 2008 - 01:03 AM

Ok im pretty stupid when it comes to computers, what do i do after ive downloaded it? do i just move it into the addon folder like any other addons or...?

help =\
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

<